SCCC PTK to hold fall induction ceremony on Sunday

LIBERAL, Kan. – The Seward County Community College chapter of Phi Theta Kappa will host its fall induction ceremony at 2 p.m. on Sunday, November 14, upstairs in the Student Union on the SCCC Campus. The event is open and free to the public.

Eight SCCC students will be inducted into the international honor society for community colleges. To be eligible, students must have completed at least 12 hours of college-level courses and have a GPA of 3.5 or higher after their first semester. Students must maintain a 3.0 to continue being a member.

The students being inducted are Israel Banuelos, Ana Brangioni, Olga Camargo, Elizabeth Horinek, Chiara Matteodo, Taylor Cardwell, Brooke Katen and Alvarado Rosario.

Ty Hughbanks, a SCCC biology instructor is the sponsor for Phi Theta Kappa.

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa shall provide opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: