Campus honor society to induct new members

Phi Theta Kappa recognizes excellences and opens doors

LIBERAL, KS (Feb. 28, 2020) — Two-year colleges sometimes battle the perception that their students have settled for a less rigorous education. That’s not the case at Seward County Community College, where the spring induction ceremony for the honor society Phi Theta Kappa recognizes academic excellence.

“We don’t put on airs about it, but our PTK group on campus is pretty darn brilliant,” said club sponsor and biology instructor Ty Hughbanks. “Applying your mental abilities to the world around you — asking questions — putting in the time to tackle hard subjects — none of that requires an elite environment. It’s all about the student’s motivation.”

That academic drive as what PTK celebrates, Hughbanks said, and what the latest batch of members embodies. SCCC’s PTK chapter will hold an induction ceremony at 2 p.m. Sunday, March 1, in room 214 on the upper level of the Student Union.

“It’s not a long ceremony, but it’s a meaningful chance to recognize our students who work hard and excel,” he said. “We invite campus and community members to join us.”

The club is open to any SCCC student who has completed at least 12 hours of coursework toward an associate or bachelor’s degree, or at least six hours of coursework toward a one-year certificate, with a cumulative 3.5 GPA. A membership fee of $70 might deter some applicants, but Hughbanks pointed out that PTK is a reasonable and sound investment.  For those students who find the cost burdensome, limited assistance is available.

“The scholarships that open up through PTK are pretty amazing,” he said. “We have standing $500 and $1,000 scholarships awarded by four-year colleges every year, and being able to list that honor society on applications and your resume is a big plus.”

Vice President of Student Services Celeste Donovan added that the college nominates two PTK members each year for inclusion in the All Kansas Academic Team, which yields an award during an all-expense paid visit to the state capitol in Topeka.

“Some of our former winners of the AKAT award have also succeeded in applying for, and winning, the national scholarship,” said Donovan. “I’m always excited to follow them as they move forward with their education and professional life. Their success is what we’re all about.”

SCCC students slated for induction Sunday include Emma McClure, Zenaida Pando, Caitlin Kiley, Thais Vieira, Angelica Holguin Zamarron, Kaitlyn Kirk, Haylee Parker, and Noah Horinek.


Categories: Awards & Honors, Student Success


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: