KSDE awards additional funds to SCCC students


Board of Regents rewards community college success rates

Celebrating Financial Aid Awareness Month at Seward County Community College will continue with an extra bit of sweetness: extra scholarship funds, served up with some positive affirmation.

SCCC Director of Financial Aid Amy Bridenstine received the unexpected news mid-month from Diane Lindeman, Director of Student Financial Assistance for the Kansas Board of Regents.

A disbursement of an additional $20,000 for Governor’s Scholarship Funds arrived at KBOR, Lindeman noted, and “we have decided that we would like to award this funding to the top four community colleges that had the highest Student Success Index which measured the success rate of students who completed their degrees or matriculated to a four-year institution.”

Seward was one of just four schools in Kansas to meet that mark, and the only western Kansas institution on the list.  

“We are there along with Highland, Neosho, and Cloud community colleges,” said Bridenstine. “Since it is based on our academic performance, that’s really something to be proud of.”

SCCC will receive $5,000 in aid, to be awarded in $1,000 scholarships to five currently enrolled students.

logoKBOR specified that funds are intended for students who still have remaining financial need, a Kansas resident, currently enrolled in a minimum of six hours, in good academic standing, and making satisfactory progress toward program requirement.  Preference may go to a student who is experiencing a financial emergency (i.e. medical bills, car repair, etc.), and does not have the resources to alleviate this burden.  There is no application form, and financial aid officers are to disburse the funding at their discretion. Funds are expected by early April.  

“This is good news for our students, and reflects a real understanding of the role of community colleges in making higher education accessible,” said SCCC President, Dr. Ken Trzaska. “Kudos to KBOR for its support, and even more kudos to our students and campus team members who continue to help us achieve excellence.”


SCCC President Dr. Ken Trzaska, right, and SCCC Board chair Ron Oliver, third from right, at a dinner with KBOR member Shelly Kiblinger, second from right. Others in attendance were, from left, SCCC’s Chandler Kirkhart, Fort Scott’s Adam Borth and Alysia Johnston, and Salina Tech President Greg Nicols.


Categories: Awards & Honors, Kansas Community Colleges, Student Success

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: