SCCC to hold fall PTK induction ceremony

LIBERAL, Kan. – The Seward County Community College chapter of Phi Theta Kappa will host its fall induction ceremony at 2 p.m. on Sunday, September 29, upstairs in the Student Union on the SCCC Campus. The event is open and free to the public.

Seventeen SCCC students will be inducted into the international honor society for community colleges. To be eligible, students must have completed at least 12 hours of college-level courses and have a GPA of 3.5 or higher after their first semester. Students must maintain a 3.0 to continue being a member.

The students being inducted are Christina Forks, Candelaria Garcia, Keylee Guevara, Angelica Holguin-Zamarron, Jacqueline Holguin-Zamarron, Kimberly McGaha, Jack Ricker, Shaina Ruff, Lizette Arroyo-Perez, Brenda Nguyen, David Torres, Juliet Nava-Chavez, Esi Houtz, Guadalupe Silverio, Alejandro Avila, Kaitlyn Kirk and Nicole Niedens.

Ty Hughbanks, who is the sponsor for Phi Theta Kappa, is hoping that the public will come out to the ceremony.

“It’s important to recognize the academic accomplishments and achievements of these students,” said Hughbanks, an SCCC biology instructor.

According to Hughbanks, a major benefit of being a member of Phi Theta Kappa is financial.

“Most four-year schools have scholarships available simply if you’re a member of PTK,” he said. “It cost $75 ($65 for the first year and $10 for the second year) in dues, but you’re getting a $500 or $1,000 scholarship. That’s a pretty good return on your investment.”

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa shall provide opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: