PTK inducts new members for spring

The Seward County Community College chapter of Phi Theta Kappa inducted five new members on Sunday.

Jade Rice, Rodrigo Sanchez, Daisey Hernandez, Rogelio Pando, and Citlali Rocha-Ruiz. are the newest members of PTK, an the international honor society for community colleges.


Jade Rice and Rodrigo Sanchez (right) attended the PTK induction ceremony on Sunday.  (Not shown: Daisey Hernandez, Rogelio Pando, and Citlali Rocha-Ruiz.)

To be eligible, students must have completed at least 12 hours of college-level courses and have a GPA of 3.5 or higher after their first semester. Students must maintain a 3.0 to continue being a member.

Academic recognition is only one of the benefits of being part of Phi Theta Kappa. Another  benefit is the financial aspect. Most four-year schools have scholarships based on PTK membership. While membership dues are  $75, scholarships can range from $500 to $1,000 or more. scholarship.

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa shall provide opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: